Pretty Packaged Invitations

chirpy threads | pretty packaged invitations

A very awesome friend of mine is turning FORTY in a couple weeks and I volunteered to help design her party invitations.  I love doing these sorts of things!  She’s having a My Favorite Things party — and, I had no idea what that was until she explained it to me!  Then, I searched for it and found it everywhere, especially on Pinterest!  Wow, really, where have I been?  It’s super popular!

Anyway, I loved the idea of brown paper packages tied up with string.  It’s so simple, so classic, so PRETTY!

The invitations themselves were simple.  The wording came from here.  Just tweaked it a little bit.  The fonts I used are You Make Me Smile and Janda Curlygirl Chunky.

chirpy threads | pretty packaged invitations

Before I share with you the details of the packaging, a BIG shout out to my friend, the Silhouette Cameo!  Without you, I couldn’t have done it.

chirpy threads | pretty packaged invitations

The envelopes were photo sleeves.  The cards could easily be slipped in and out without having to pull apart the pretty string.  The design came in a 4″x6″ size so I resized it to fit the 5″x7″ invitations.  They were cut using the Silhouette.  I used Kraft card stock – my favorite!  They were so easy to put together.  Just fold on perforated lines, glue down tabs, and you have your envelope.

chirpy threads | pretty packaged invitations

The tags were also cut using the Silhouette.  This was a free design that was already in my library, so if you own a Silhouette, you should have it too!  I cut out the reinforcement circles out of Kraft cardstock for some cute contrast.  The names were each hand-stamped, letter by letter.

chirpy threads | pretty packaged invitations

Now for the wrapping… get some baker’s twine and wrap it around your envelope three times.  Then, insert one end through the hole of the tag and tie a bow.  Add a strip of washi tape on front of the envelope if you wish… and you’re DONE!

chirpy threads | pretty packaged invitations

Pretty and simple!  If you don’t have a Silhouette, you can find other pretty envelopes to wrap in string — it adds some charm and character to an otherwise boring piece of mail, don’t you think?!

xoxo, Jen

4 thoughts on “Pretty Packaged Invitations

Leave a Reply

