Toddler Backpack

toddler backpack using made by rae pattern {chirpy threads}

So this may sound kind of lame, but this backpack was made a few months ago (way back in 2012)!  I didn’t have the time to blog about it then but here it is now!

I was super excited to have finally bought the toddler backpack pattern by Made by Rae. I had been drooling over these backpacks for the longest time! I don’t know why I waited so long to get it – but it’s a good thing because Rae had updated it with instructions for adding a lining and enlarging the pattern.  Yay!

toddler backpack using made by rae pattern {chirpy threads}

I used this little cars fabric by Kokka Japan that I had purchased from a local store called Momen+ but Fabricworm has a great selection of Japanese import fabrics too.  It’s so hard to find cute fabric for boys so I instantly fell in love with this print at the store.

toddler backpack using made by rae pattern {chirpy threads}

I just love little backpacks on kids.  It’s the most adorable thing ever!

Anyway, many firsts happened for me here!  It was the first time I ever sewed piping.  And it was the first time I sewed a zipper.  And I think it went pretty swell!  I was totally nervous about screwing up the piping so I looked up tutorials and found this awesome one.  It was so helpful.  I prefer to join the cords together rather than overlapping them for a cleaner look.  Plus, it was so much easier to do it this way!  So proud of myself.  Of course, I was also sewing at the slowest possible speed.  Ha!

toddler backpack using made by rae pattern {chirpy threads}

The backpack turned out just a little bit floppy (even with the lining) but once it’s stuffed, it looks fine.  Next time around, I will add interfacing.

This is such a great pattern to have on hand.  It was $8 but so worth it, especially since I’ve decided that this would be my go-to gift for all the little toddlers I know!

xoxo, Jen

4 thoughts on “Toddler Backpack

    • Thanks Jen! I love piping – it gives such a clean, polished, professional look to a project! I’ve also piped a simple pillow cover and it’s much easier to do! 🙂

Leave a Reply

