DIY Mustache Love Shirt (using fabric paint)

DIY mustache love shirt {chirpy threads}

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Last year, I made this mustache love shirt for Ethan.  I decided to make him another one this year because I just love how the first one turned out!  Also, I’m still slightly obsessed with mustaches and I think this is just the cutest design ever!  I’m so original, eh?  So much that my husband didn’t even notice it was a different shirt from last year!  Um, our son has grown a little bigger and this time I used fabric paint and not felt!  Ha!

DIY mustache love shirt {chirpy threads}

This design came from Finley & Oliver.  Another one of my favorite blogs.

OK, here is what I did!

Materials:

  • t-shirt
  • fabric paint
  • sponge brush
  • freezer paper
  • small piece of cardboard

1.)  Grab your t-shirt.  I used a shirt that I already had on hand.  It’s organic cotton and super soft!  Get the mustache love template over at Finley & Oliver and make your stencil using freezer paper.  I used my Silhouette machine to make my stencil, but you can also trace the letters onto the freezer paper and cut them out.  Next, iron the freezer paper (shiny side down) onto your shirt using a low temperature dry setting.

2.)  Grab your fabric paint and brush.  I got both my paint and brush at Joann.  I went with a matte finish paint and a sponge brush because I wanted to produce a slightly distressed effect.  Put some cardboard inside the shirt under the part where you will be painting.

3.)  Go to town painting!  Just make sure you don’t paint outside the stencil.  Since I used a sponge brush, I just dabbed it up and down on the shirt for a not-so-neat look. I painted on two coats.

4.) Wait about 5 minutes to let the paint soak in and then slowly peel off the freezer paper stencil (while the paint is still wet).  And there you have it!  Now keep it flat and let it dry according to the instructions on the paint bottle.  I let mine dry overnight and it looked perfect the next morning!

So easy!  This was my first time using freezer paper and fabric paint.  I really don’t know why it took me so long to try it.  I was seriously missing out!  The results look so professional.

DIY mustache love shirt {chirpy threads}

I initially made this shirt so he could wear it to a Valentine’s playdate!  Check out the sweet kissing booth!  Isn’t it the cutest?!

DIY mustache love shirt {chirpy threads}

xoxo, Jen

3 thoughts on “DIY Mustache Love Shirt (using fabric paint)

  1. The template on the website Finely and Oliver doesn’t exist anymore. I was wondering if you could post the printable or email someone the PDF? I am dying to make this shirt for my boys for their Valentine’s Day parties next week. I tried using Microsoft word to come up with a similar font and mustache, but it doesn’t look nearly as good. Yours turned out so cute!!:)

    • Thanks so much, Andrea! Hmmm, I didn’t realize the link didn’t work anymore – thanks for pointing that out. If it’s not too late, I’d be happy to e-mail you a PDF. You can e-mail me at my blog name at gmail dot com. I’ll make sure to look out for your message. Thanks again and good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

