Rag Ball Garland and Burlap Ornament

rag ball garland and burlap ornament

I haven’t been blogging much lately, mainly due to the rush of the holiday season and because I have just been too lazy to write and prefer to peruse the web for fun holiday crafts!  Seriously, I need to lay off the Pinterest world for a while — I’ve become an addict!  But, I have been sewing and crafting and DIY-ing like a mad woman all this time — and I have so much to blog about, so stay tuned!

Anyway, so I know I am a little late on the Christmas posting, but I still wanted to show you the few things I made just because I love them so much!

Our tree was looking a little bare with the few ornaments that we bought this year.  It totally needed something to bring it alive and a simple garland was the way to go.  I decided the tree was going to have a vintage, country feel to it.  So…. why not a rag ball garland and some burlap ornaments?

This garland is about as easy as it can get to make.  Not much sewing is needed and it was a simple project.  It can get quite tedious if you’re making a super long strand like I did, but it is worth it in the end.  Just take breaks in between the ball wrapping process!  (i.e., go look up some more projects to add to your list!  It will take twice as long to make your garland, but, it will be less boring!)

Here is a super quick tutorial.

rag ball garland tutorial

1.  First, purchase some wood craft balls.  I bought mine from Joann.  I went with the 25mm (1 inch) ones which came with 19 pieces in a bag.  I got carried away and bought seven bags of them because I wanted a really long string of garland for the tree.  It was exactly enough to wrap around my tree a few times.

2.  Next, cut or rip 4-inch strips of muslin fabric.  I ripped mine because I wanted a really raggy look with frayed edges.  All you need to do is cut a small slit at the 4-inch mark and then tear the piece of fabric all the way down to the end.  If you’ve never done it before, you’ll be surprised at how easily and straight it tears!  You can use any lightweight cotton fabric but I chose muslin because I had so much on hand (and it’s inexpensive)!

3.  To begin, tie a knot on your strip of fabric at one end.  Then, take a ball and wrap the fabric around it, making sure to overlap the fabric so that the entire ball is covered and secured inside the fabric.  Next, tie a knot again to hold the ball in.  Keep repeating until you are satisfied with the length!

4.  Once you get to the end of your fabric strip, sew another strip to the current strip, and continue on with your wrapping.  I’ve seen tutorials that instruct you to sew a tube, slide a ball in, and knot.  But I prefer to do it this way because it gives you more leeway to determine the length of the garland.  Either way works though!

rag ball garland

And you’re done – now you can go wrap it around your tree!

christmas tree with rag ball garland

And here is a quick tutorial on the burlap ball ornament.  Just as simple.

materials for burlap ball ornament

For materials, you will need some styrofoam balls (can be purchased at your local craft store), 1-inch strips of burlap, jute twine (or ribbon), and a hot glue gun.  I chose to use 3-inch balls but any size will do, depending on the look you want.

burlap ball ornament tutorial

1.  First, take a piece of string and wrap it once around the ball.  Tie a knot at the top, making sure to leave some string at the ends for tying a loop to hang the ornament.

2.  Take a strip of the burlap and wrap it around the ball once.  Hot glue it in place.

3.  Continue this process until the entire ball is covered like a mummy.

4.  Now tie the two pieces of loose strings together at the top to form a loop.  That’s it!  Go hang your ornament now!

hanging up burlap ornament

* by the way, as you can see in the above photo, I also used muslin fabric to make the loop for hanging the ornaments.

Thanks for stopping by!

xoxo, Jen

One thought on “Rag Ball Garland and Burlap Ornament

  1. Pingback: 12 Days of Christmas Decorations Day #2: Muslin and Burlap Wrapped Ball Ornaments | Patty's Pinterest Addiction

Leave a Reply

