Simple Art Smock / Apron

Yes, after a crazy long hiatus from blogging and sewing, I am finally back in the game — and it feels so darn good!

The last few months have been pretty chaotic – we moved from Michigan to California and have been acclimating to the area and culture out here – but I’m happy to say that we are mostly settled now.

And that means… back to sewing!  Yay!!  Now let’s get to the important stuff.

I recently enrolled Ethan into a Messy Art class and he is loving it.  I thought I’d make him his very own art smock or apron to wear to class and also at home on those crafty days.

There are so many amazing toddler patterns out there to choose from but in the end, I decided on something simple — just your plain old classic apron that ties in the back.  So I created my own.

I love the photo in the middle.  That was Ethan “striking a pose”!  Gotta love the mind of a toddler!

The apron was super easy to make.  I cut out the shape of the apron and then sewed bias tape around the entire thing.  I even added a pocket at the bottom to store his little goodies (which are mostly rocks these days).

I took Ethan to this cute little fabric store I discovered in the area (called Momen+) and he chose the laminated monkey fabric for his apron.  I was ecstatic – I loved the fabric too!  It’s from the Urban Zoologie collection by Ann Kelle for Robert Kaufman.  The entire collection is super cute.  I was excited to find fabric that I actually liked for boys.  Total win!

I was a little nervous about sewing with laminated fabric but the bias tape made it a little easier as I didn’t have to sew directly on the laminated surface.  My needle did break for the first time though – and I wondered if it was because the needle type wasn’t compatible with the fabric.  But it was an easy fix – luckily I had one more needle at hand!

I’m pretty happy with the results.  It fits Ethan perfectly.  I sewed at night and wasn’t able to get his measurements so I took a t-shirt and based the sizing on that.

This is really such an easy project – perfect for beginner sewers!  I think I’ll be making more of these in the future!

And I leave you with a picture of Ethan getting busy in his art class! MESSY!!!

xoxo, Jen

4 thoughts on “Simple Art Smock / Apron

  1. Awesome Apron! I’ve got some laminated fabric I am making an apron out of, just haven’t dare use it with my sewing machine yet! I might have to stock up on new needles first, just in case.

  2. I love how this turned out! Making my little boy an apron has been on my list for a while. He loves to bake with me and hates getting dirty. He keeps asking to wear my apron! I’ve never used laminated fabric before, but maybe I should give it a try.

    • Thanks, Karen! Your little boy sounds just like my little boy! I love aprons on little people – they’re just so adorable. I’ve actually never sewn directly on laminated fabric – just through it – under some bias tape… I’m too chicken to try – afraid it will break my needle! I’d love to hear how it turns out for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

