Airplane Birthday Party (Part 1)

Ethan had his second birthday party last weekend.  It was a little chaotic with all his little buddies running around our small condo, but it was a super fun time and I wouldn’t change a thing!  I can’t believe my baby is TWO already!  How quickly time flies… Yes, that’s a picture above of Daddy blowing out Ethan’s candles!  Hopefully he will get to blow out his own candles next year!  lol.

We decided that the theme of his party would be airplanes and the colors red, turquoise and white.  Ethan is still too young for a themed party, but we did ask him what type of party he wanted, and he responded “Jay-Jay!” (meaning Jay-Jay the Jet Plane).

I created the party invitation on PowerPoint and printed them out on blank white note cards that I purchased at Michael’s.  I love how the invitations turned out – simple but attractive (at least I think so!).  I chose Rumpelstiltskin font because it’s just so fun and whimsical – perfect for a kid’s party invitation.  I’m also obsessed with buntings so I needed to include one on the card.  Who knows if Ethan will let me design his invitations next year?!

I also made Ethan a birthday t-shirt with the number two on it.  I used turquoise felt for the number and appliqued it onto an old t-shirt using deep red thread to make the number pop (and to match the theme colors!).

This was supposed to be the goodie bag but I only had time to make a few before the big day so they never made it to the kids (sadly).  I ended up putting all the party favors into little white paper bags.  Not as cute, but it worked.

I love these little drawstring bags though.  They were so easy to make – just two felt rectangles sewn together and turned right side out with pockets on the top for the drawstring.  I used jute twine for the string because I had so much of it on hand.  And I just had to sew a cloud on it because the bag wouldn’t have been complete without it.

The cake was from Baskin Robbins.  Everyone loves ice cream and cake together so why not just get an ice cream cake!  I love how it turned out.  The girl who made it did such an awesome job.  I told her we were having an airplane themed party and she said she’d work her magic.  And she did!  The cake was less than $30 and it was super cute and delicious.  Last year, we spent $100 on a cake from a special bakery that was the same size as this one and this one was just as amazing!

And I leave you with a picture of Ethan enjoying his tasty finger after he dug it into the cake!  Yummy.  More on decorations in my next blog post (part 2).  Enjoy!

xoxo, Jen

5 thoughts on “Airplane Birthday Party (Part 1)

  1. My son will be turning 3 in March and is obsessed with airplanes (and garbage trucks, but a garbage truck cake is a bit less appealing!) I just love the decorations you made! I don’t know how much of a party we will be up for this year as his little sister is due just 2 days before his birthday, but if we can pull something together I think what you did here for your son would be perfect!

    • Aww, thanks! Yup, our sons are a ton alike! 🙂 And they’re just 2 months apart in age! Good luck with his party, and the rest of your pregnancy! Such an exciting time!!

Leave a Reply

