Cancun

We’ve been away in Cancun for the past five days and it’s been great.  It was Ethan’s first big trip out of the country and our first real family vacation.  Just the three of us.  No phones.  No computers.  I was a bit nervous to have my phone off but it turned out well.  It was actually nice to have that disconnection from the world and just focus on us. I loved every bit of our time together.

My friend was getting married in Cancun so it was a great excuse to get a vacation out of the trip.  We stayed at Now Jade, an incredibly luxurious all-inclusive resort.  It was nice.  Really nice.  We were greeted with glasses of champagne when we arrived!  We felt like celebrities.

This was our first time staying at an all-inclusive resort and I have to say that it is the only way to go.  I love that we didn’t need to worry about fishing out our credit cards or room cards for any food or beverage.  Although I will admit that this could be very dangerous to your health.  I totally over-snacked while there.  I couldn’t help it.  It was everywhere and all in my face – chocolate cake, macarons, frozen lattes, mmmm.

And best of all, the resort was very kid-friendly.  Ethan had a blast in the kiddie pool and could have stayed in the water all day if we didn’t need to pull him out for breaks to rescue his pruney little fingers and toes.  Most of the restaurants even had kid menus too.

We also went on a tour to Chichen Itza.  Long ride there but it was totally worth it.  The site was so beautiful.

Here is Ethan walking up to the pyramid.  I love that no one was around and we were able to get a shot with just him.  Tiny little thing.  Below the pyramid photo is Ethan hanging out by the columns in the Temple of a Thousand Warriors.  So cool.

And finally, finishing off the day with a watermelon popsicle.

I admit that I was a bit worried about traveling to Mexico after reading about the all the horrific things that happen there to tourists.  But the resort we stayed at was secluded and gated.  And thanks to this blog, we made it there without any major harassment from the locals at the airport.  We were pulled aside by someone who asked us where we were going as soon we arrived at the airport.  But we knew to keep walking and to look for the people in the flowered shirts (we booked with Apple Vacations).

We took a car seat with us also and I was so glad that we did!  I had went back and forth on whether to bring one or not but decided that we should because Ethan’s safety would bring me peace of mind.  We used it on the shuttle ride to the hotel and on our trip to Chichen Itza.

It was such a great time that we’ve decided we need to do this at least once a year!

xoxo, Jen

Leave a Reply

