Valentine’s Day Prep

Love is in the air! Love has been in the air ever since our little Ethan came into our lives. He brings such great joy to our hearts and we can’t imagine life without him. Our little sweet pea.

But it’s that time of the year where I have an excuse to make pretty things to hang in the house. I have been obsessed with bunting banners lately. Really obsessed. I have been pinning tons of them to my Banners board on Pinterest. It’s such a simple way to dress up the home for a festive feel during any holiday. We had a little Valentine’s playdate for Ethan and his buddies at my house yesterday. I knew that a little decorating was in order. I had never made one before but thought this would be the perfect time to start!

I wanted to make a pennant bunting out of burlap. I just love the old vintage and rustic look of burlap – not to mention that it is eco-friendly too. And relatively inexpensive to buy if you’re not able to find some recycled coffee sacks anywhere. The burlap was $3.99/yd at Joann Fabric and I had a 50% off coupon, making it only $1.99/yd. Great deal.

I found an awesome (and super easy) tutorial for a Valentine’s heart banner over at Finley & Oliver. I pretty much followed it step-by-step, but used cotton fabric instead of felt for the hearts. I wanted a long banner so I made it with 17 pennants. I hand stitched them together using some thin jute twine. I made a happy birthday banner as well since we were also celebrating my friend’s birthday. The font I used is called Carnivalee Freakshow. I used Heat’n Bond Ultra Hold Iron-On adhesive on the burlap and the fabric seemed to stay on pretty well. I love how the banners turned out!

The playdate was loads of fun. I had a talk with Ethan about sharing before his friends came over. I know that this “mine!” thing is just a phase, but still… I wanted the playing to be somewhat pleasant. It worked, I think! Ethan shared his toys like a big boy. We had a Valentine’s playdate too last year with the same kids. We took a cute group photo of the babies back then when they were barely crawling. So we wanted to do it again this year to compare with last year’s photo. I think it was a little easier to get the kids to sit still last year. All it took was some singing and dancing on our part. But that was before they turned into these wild, I mean, energetic, mobile creatures. 🙂 They are all so adorable and lovable.

The babies at 8-months-old last year on Valentine’s Day.

Flash foward a year later… the kiddos (now 20-months-old) in the same order as above.

Here are the kids cooperating for the camera — BEFORE we moved them around to reflect the order of the original photo from last year!

And finally, pictures of all the yummy treats!

Have a great weekend!

xoxo, Jen

4 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Prep

  1. Yay!! I love how the banners turned out! And look at all those sweet little kiddos. Darling.

    PS – The Heat n Bond will hold just fine as long as you don’t wash them (I’m guessing you wouldn’t need to 😉 Have a lovely weekend!

  2. Pingback: Lucky Shamrock Burlap Banner | Chirpy Threads

  3. Pingback: Dragon Birthday Party | Chirpy Threads

Leave a Reply

