Meadow Friends Baby Snuggler

Meadow Friends Baby Snuggler {chirpy threads}

My sister is having a baby girl in a few months and I wanted to make her something as she enters her most exciting phase of pregnancy – the nesting phase!  I’m so excited that I get to sew for a girl now!  I love making things for Ethan… but, this is sort of refreshing and different, ya know?  And all the girly fabric out there… oh my, it is overwhelming but so much fun to look at!  Anyway, the first sewing book I ever purchased was Simple Sewing for Baby by Lotta Jansdotter.  I finally took it off the shelf, dusted it off, and made the baby snuggler that I’ve wanted to make for ages!  Actually, I’ve made a couple things from this book before but they were really simple – the giraffe and the simple pants - two of my first projects sewn two years ago. This baby snuggler wasn’t too bad to sew up but it did take some time for me to put together.  I worked super slow on it, making sure the darts and notches matched up.  And I’m glad I did – because I love it!  Hopefully, this baby will like to be swaddled.

Meadow Friends Baby Snuggler {chirpy threads}

The outside fabric is from Birch Organic Fabric’s Storyboek II collection called Meadow Friends Shroom.  I just love this fabric!  It’s girly but not so much.  But it definitely has that baby vibe.  The lining is a super soft flannel in ivory by Robert Kaufman.  I bought the fabric from my local fabric shop, Momen+, but you can usually find it online here.

Meadow Friends Baby Snuggler {chirpy threads}

Oh, and the pattern is also free here if you’d like to make a snuggler and don’t have the book yet! It’s the perfect newborn gift.

I didn’t have a baby to model so I used one of Ethan’s stuffed friends.  He insisted on being in the photos so here they are!  His favorite part seems to be the velcro.

Meadow Friends Baby Snuggler {chirpy threads}

xoxo, Jen

4 thoughts on “Meadow Friends Baby Snuggler

  1. Hi Jen! Your baby snuggler looks gorgeous! I’m sure the new baby enjoys being snuggled inside your awesome handmade gift!! Love the fabrics you selected. Don’t you think that Momen Plus carries the best fabric??? Oh and your son is so handsome!

Leave a Reply

